Acadian and Franco-American heritage and historyArtifactsAudio/VideoBusinessCensus and immigration/emigration materialsDiaries and correspondenceEducationGenealogyHistoryImagesMapsMusicNewspapersOral histories and interviewsReligionScrapbooks
What are primary source docuements?Why use primary sources?Where can I find primary source documents?
This is the "Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes at UMFK" page of the "
Welcome to the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes at UMFK!
" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welcome to the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes at UMFK!
 

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://offcampus.maine.campusguides.com/content.php?pid=407617 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes at UMFK Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Meet Our Staff

Lise Pelletier
Director
lise.m.pelletier@maine.edu
(207) 834-7536

Kathryn Donahue
Assistant Director
kathryn.donahue@maine.edu
(207) 834-7528

Anne Chamberland
Specialist
annc@maine.edu
(207) 834-8631
 

Hours

Regular Hours

Monday-Friday

8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

and by appointment

Saturday-Sunday

Closed

 

Contact Us

Phone

(207) 834-7535

Email

acadian@maine.edu

Twitter

Address

Acadian Archives/Archives Acadiennes
University of Maine at Fort Kent
23 University Drive
Fort Kent, ME 04743

 

Archives banner

University of Maine at Fort Kent

The Acadian Archives documents, preserves, celebrates, and disseminates information about the Upper St. John Valley, a 70-mile stretch of the St. John River running between the U.S. and Canada.

See our brochure for more information:

 

Research the Collection

Manuscript Collection Catalog (Archon)

Search finding aids for all processed collections. 

Library and Archives Catalog (URSUS)

Search reference publications and archival holdings.

Image Search (Maine Memory Network)

Use the Maine Memory Network site to search or browse a selection of images from our collections.
 

About the Archives

Mission of the Archives

The Acadian Archives/Archives Acadiennes at the University of Maine at Fort Kent documents, preserves, celebrates, and disseminates information about the culture, way of life, and history of the Franco-American and Acadian people of the Upper St John river Valley. A repository for manuscript materials and audio-visual documentation relevant to regional folklore, folklife, and history, the Archives serves the University community as well as individuals and organizations regionally, statewide, nationally, and internationally.

What We Collect, and Why

Access and Services

The Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes facilities include a reading room, reference and genealogy library, subject files, manuscript collections (by request), searchable online cataloges, audio/video viewing equipment, microfilm readers, printing, photocopying, and scanning services.

On-site reference assistance is available for our archival collections and for regional history, genealogy, folklore and folklife; outreach presentations and workshops. Inquiries by telephone, mail, and e-mail are welcome.

Guidelines for Using the Archives

Donating to the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes

Donations to the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes are always welcome but will only be added if they support the department's mission statement. Staff reserves the right to determine if donated materials fit the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes mission statement. If not, the materials may be added to the University of Fort Kent's Blake Library collection, returned to the donor (if requested upon donation), or discarded at the discretion of the staff. The staff will also consider the condition of the materials and determine if the archives has the capacity to preserve and maintain them.

Donation Form

History of the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes

The Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes was established at the University of Maine at Fort Kent in 1989 through a general funding appropriation by the 114th Maine State Legislature during its first regular session of 1989. It is a repository and resource center, offering on-site consultation regarding archival collections and information about regional folklore, history, and folklife.

 

Current Exhibit

 

Recent Additions

Jim Rowe video collection
Call Number: MCC-00405
This collection consists of 2 DVDs. One is a July 1988 DVD showing interviews with Charley Henderson, Jim Connors, and many other people from Allagash and St. Francis, Maine, not identified. Mr. Rowe travels on the Allagash River, showing Michaud Farm’s landing, Cunliffe Pond, the town of St. Francis and Eagle Lake, Maine.

The second DVD is from 1989 and places toured are: John Connors’ house turned museum in Connors, New Brunswick; going up the St. Francis River by canoe; looking down Glazier Lake; Connors’ Cove; McPherson’s farm; Fall Brook falls; a pig farm in Connors, N.B.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip