Acadian and Franco-American heritage and historyArtifactsAudio/VideoBusinessCensus and immigration/emigration materialsDiaries and correspondenceEducationGenealogyHistoryImagesMapsMusicNewspapersOral histories and interviewsReligionScrapbooks
What are primary source docuements?Why use primary sources?Where can I find primary source documents?
This is the "Congres mondial acadien 2014 events" page of the "
Welcome to the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes at UMFK!
" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welcome to the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes at UMFK!
 

Last Updated: Aug 11, 2014 URL: http://offcampus.maine.campusguides.com/content.php?pid=407617 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Congres mondial acadien 2014 events Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CMA logo

Information on:

Tours            Exhibits               Events            CMA Newsletter

Audio Tour and Map: Acadie des Terres et Forêts

About the Archives

 

Tour the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes

The Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes will be offering tours of our facilities during the Congrès mondial acadien/World Acadian Congress at the following times:

Monday-Friday

10:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m.

and by appointment

Duration: 1 hour, 15 minutes

 

Call 207-834-7535 to register for a tour (walk-ins welcome!)

 

Current Exhibit

Untitled. Paul Edouard Bourke, 2014. Mixed Media

Archives and museums in northern Maine are collaborating to present the first exhibition of a group project bringing together five Acadian archives and historical museums, sixteen artists and five exhibition venues across the geographic territory of Acadian communities. The exhibition l’Acadie mythique is a project of Saint Mary's University Art Gallery in Halifax, Nova Scotia. It consists of contemporary artworks created in response to historical objects and documents found in collections of the participating archives. Each individual artist has selected an object or objects to interpret in the medium of their choice.

Des archives et musées du nord de Maine collaborent pour présenter la prémière exposition d’un projet collectif qui regroupe cinq archives d'histoire acadiennes, seize artistes et cinq lieux d'exposition, à travers le territoire géographique des communautés acadiennes. L’exposition l’Acadie mythique est un projet de Saint Mary's University Art Gallery, à Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse. Cette exposition de groupe présente des œuvres d’art contemporaines créées pour répondre à des objets et documents historiques trouvés dans les collections des archives et musées participants. Chaque artiste interprète les objets choisis, en utilisant le médium de sa préférence.

 

CMA Events at the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes

DATE EVENT LOCATION AND COST

March 23

1:30 Atlantic Time Zone (12:30 Eastern Time Zone in Maine)

Acadians of Aroostook County: Presentation by Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes Director Lise Pelletier

Centre Sportif et Culturel (Clair, New Brunswick)

August 9-12 Fort Kent Ploye Festival and International Muskie Derby Fort Kent, ME

August 11-12

12:00-4:30

Acadian Literary Creations: Acadian and Franco-American Authors

Blake Library, UMFK

August 10

Time TBA

Fiddlers' Jamboree Fox Auditorium, UMFK

August 16

1:00

Acadians of Maine: A Presentation by Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes Director, Lise Pelletier

*This event will be presented in French*

Fox Auditorium, UMFK

$5 Admission fee

August 18

1:00

Acadians of Maine: A Presentation by Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes Director, Lise Pelletier

*This event will be presented in English*

Madawaska High School Cafeteria

$5 admission fee

August 19

8:00 p.m

Concert: Fiddleheads and Les Chanteurs Acadiens Fox Auditorium, UMFK

August 19-20

Time: TBA

Economic Development Conference Nadeau Hall, UMFK

August 23

8:00 p.m.

La Sagouine: A Presentation by Viola Léger

Fox Auditorium

$25 Admission fee; $50 VIP ticket

 More to be announced!

 

About the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes

Hours of Service

Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m., and by appointment

Mission of the Archives

The Acadian Archives/Archives Acadiennes at the University of Maine at Fort Kent documents, preserves, celebrates, and disseminates information about the culture, way of life, and history of the Franco-American and Acadian people of the Upper St John river Valley. A repository for manuscript materials and audio-visual documentation relevant to regional folklore, folklife, and history, the Archives serves the University community as well as individuals and organizations regionally, statewide, nationally, and internationally.

What We Collect, and Why

Access and Services

The Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes facilities include a reading room, reference and genealogy library, subject files, manuscript collections (by request), searchable online cataloges, audio/video viewing equipment, microfilm readers, printing, photocopying, and scanning services.

On-site reference assistance is available for our archival collections and for regional history, genealogy, folklore and folklife; outreach presentations and workshops. Inquiries by telephone, mail, and e-mail are welcome.

Guidelines for Using the Archives

Donating to the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes

Donations to the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes are always welcome but will only be added if they support the department's mission statement. Staff reserves the right to determine if donated materials fit the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes mission statement. If not, the materials may be added to the University of Fort Kent's Blake Library collection, returned to the donor (if requested upon donation), or discarded at the discretion of the staff. The staff will also consider the condition of the materials and determine if the archives has the capacity to preserve and maintain them.

Donation Form

History of the Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes

The Acadian Archives/Archives acadiennes was established at the University of Maine at Fort Kent in 1989 through a general funding appropriation by the 114th Maine State Legislature during its first regular session of 1989. It is a repository and resource center, offering on-site consultation regarding archival collections and information about regional folklore, history, and folklife.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip