University of Maine at Fort Kent
The Acadian Archives/Archives Acadiennes at the University of Maine at Fort Kent documents, preserves, celebrates, and disseminates information about the culture, way of life, and history of the Franco-American and Acadian people of the Upper St John river Valley. A repository for manuscript materials and audio-visual documentation relevant to regional folklore, folklife, and history, the Archives serves the University community as well as individuals and organizations regionally, statewide, nationally, and internationally.
This collection consists of correspondence, research materials, typescripts, and grant and project funding applications pertaining to Morrison's documentary about the French Acadian populations in Maine and Louisiana. The documentary, entitled "The Emerging Acadians: Split Paths, Hard Choices," received initial funding from the Maine Humanities Council through the National Endowment for the Humanities in 1990. Morrison had applied for additional grant funding to complete the project from the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities in 1991. The project was never completed, as Morrison died in 1992. The collection includes a number of recorded interviews with St. John Valley residents, including Guy Dubay, Lisa Ornstein, and Elmer and Marcella Violette. The collection also contains 17 manuscript research notebooks. These were not numbered or dated; the notebook numbering included in this collection was created by archives staff to differentiate between notebooks and is not arranged chronologically.
The collection includes other projects including typescripts and applications, including an application for a NOVA documentary. It is unclear if all of the typescripts were authored by Morrison, as not all contain bylines.